Student carries a box filled with donated food in Feeding America's warehouse.

Half day & day-long projects

Get on the Bus introduces the Virginia Tech community to service through half- and day-long projects with the goal of inspiring active community members. Each event is designed to offer opportunities to volunteers of any skill level and service experience.

The service days vary in focus, and feature local community partners that address issues such as hunger relief, conservation, and housing.

Upcoming trips

Registration for Get on the Bus trips open one month before the trip date. Please note you must be logged into GobblerConnect to register for these events.

Registration for all Get on the Bus trips closes at noon the day before the trip leaves.

  • Apple Ridge Farm
    Participants will be working in the community garden in Roanoke. Projects vary based on the growing season, but could include weeding, harvesting, and general gardening needs.
    Saturday, September 8
    Saturday, September 15
    Saturday, September 22
    Saturday, September 29

    Saturday, October 6
    Saturday, October 13
    Saturday, October 20
    Saturday, October 27

    Saturday, November 3
    Saturday, November 10

  • Catawba Sustainability Center
    Potential service tasks include planting shrubs, harvesting woody florals, pruning, spreading mulch, or stream bank clean up.
    Saturday, September 8
  • Feeding America of Southwest Virginia
    Participants will sort and repackage donated food to be distributed to local food banks.
    Friday, September 7
    Friday, September 14
    Friday, September 21
    Friday, September 28

    Friday, October 12
    Saturday, October 13
    Friday, October 19
    Friday, October 26

    Friday, November 2
    Friday, November 30

  • The Giving Tree Food Pantry
    Participants will accompany the Giving Tree's clients as they pick out food, and assist with packing up and carrying food to clients' vehicles. 
    Friday, August 24
    Friday, September 7
    Friday, October 5
    Friday, October 19
    Friday, November 2
    Friday, December 7

  • Plenty! Farm & Food Bank
    Projects vary based on the growing season, but could include weeding, harvesting, general gardening needs, and sorting donations in the food pantry.
    Saturday, September 22
    Saturday, October 6
    Saturday, November 10

  • Pulaski Grow
    Projects vary based on the growing season, but could include weeding, harvesting, and general gardening needs.
    Friday, September 14
    Friday, September 28

    Friday, October 12
    Friday, October 26

  • Friday, November 9
    Friday, November 30

  • YMCA Hale Gardens
    The Hale YMCA Community Garden hosts 70 families from 15 countries growing food using sustainable organic practices. Participants will work on gardening and plot maintenance.
    Sunday, October 14